Relationships

Today, I watched a great video by Chana Weisberg (of Chabad.org’s ‘The Jewish Woman’) about our relationship with G-d. She compared it to a human relationship, in which neglect is the most dangerous thing; the thing most likely to kill a relationship slowly. It’s the same with our spiritual relationships- we can’t let our love for G-d fade away; rather, we need to constantly work on our connection with Him, by observing His mitzvos, studying His word, and showing our love for him.

As I thought about this, my mind turned to my own relationship with G-d.

Lately, it’s been difficult. Davening has been good; studying has been difficult. But above all, I feel confused. I found myself saying ‘I can’t do this anymore’. Do what? I think I meant ‘carry on living this way’. A part of my brain had decided that leading a Torah observant life was too difficult. But relationships are difficult- and my soul knew that.

It’s a fact of life; relationships aren’t always smooth sailing.

If this applies to family relationships; friendships; and romantic endeavours, why shouldn’t it apply to the greatest relationship of all; that between G-d and one of His people? The relationship of Creator and Jew? It does apply- in spades. Faith is a funny thing. Sometimes I start to lose faith and the pressures of the outside world tempt me towards a different path. At the end of the day, I need to remember what’s fleeting and what’s not. My current surroundings will change, but G-d won’t.

When it comes to relationships, we can’t settle for second best. We need to keep striving; keep working; keep improving ourselves. And most importantly of all, we need to remember that no matter what, G-d loves us, and the relationship between G-d and Jew can never be truly severed.

Leave a Reply

