Gut Shabbes! (Tazria-Metzora)

This week, we read about the punishment for loshon hora in the Parsha. Various commentators have written about the importance of this lesson, reminding us that our words can shape other’s emotions and even their destinies. We should always be careful with what we say- about ourselves as well as others. This topic reminds me of when I first became interested in keeping Shabbes. Although, undoubtably, it was the presence of a Shul and a wonderful community which made me look forwards to the day, my own perception of Shabbes- and the way I talked about it- was almost as important.

Rather than bemoaning the day without electronics, shopping or writing, I instead made an effort to tell others of the beauty of Shabbes- even though I admitted I was struggling to keep it. Through both honesty and positivity, I found that Shabbes turned into what I wanted it to be, and I’m thankful to say that to this day, it remains the highlight of my week.

In London, Shabbes candles should be lit at 8:01 PM, and Shabbes ends tomorrow evening at 9:18 PM. When lighting your candles, please keep in mind Chaim Elozor ben Baila, Moshe ben Hadasa, Yaakov ben Avraham, Moshe ben Genya and Chashachana bas Bryna. Thank you, and gut Shabbes!

Leave a Reply

