Practical Halacha

When I began reading Sefer HaMitzvos a few days ago, I was at first taken aback by the fact that the mitzvos I were reading about were seemingly impractical. I read about plowing fields; the Sabbatical year and the jubilee year- hardly things which I would use in day to day life. I wanted mitzvos I could use and learn from. And it was only this morning that I realised that I could in fact learn from them- and that I must.

G-d can foresee the future as easily as He can remember the past. Surely, he knew that we would be reading Sefer HaMitzvos in the 21st century when these laws seemed irrelevant. He knew when He gave us these laws that we would one day see them as obsolete. And that’s a part of the reason, I believe, why we must study them. By studying laws which we see no immediate purpose in, we’re reiterating our devotion to G-d’s Word. It’s so important to us that we need to read it even when we can’t make practical use of it- and this lesson in itself proves to be practical in the truest sense.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Practical Halacha

  1. I connect with the laws that are tied to agriculture, having grown up on a farm. I feel like, maybe, Hashem knew there would one day be a time where people didn’t live so connected to the earth and no longer grew their own food and that maybe now those laws serve the purpose of a reminder.

    I also often think we could all benefit from reconnecting with the land, whether it’s by growing a small garden where we touch the earth and partner with Hashem to grow a small part of our food or men learning to schecht and experiencing in a visceral way how taking a life allows us to eat and the laws that help us do that in a humane and holy way. I don’t feel like Hashem meant for us to become so disconnected from creation that our children would think that meat grows in a plastic package and wouldn’t know whether a fruit grew on a tree or from the ground.

    I’ve been so blessed to have experienced praying for rain and knowing that my family’s livelihood depended wholly on Hashem blessing the land with just enough rain, but not too much, good temperatures, and keeping pests at bay. It allows me to read of the plagues and know the fear the locusts would have brought in a way that others might not.

    While we can’t observe all the laws fully until (G-d willing!) Moshiach comes, perhaps you’re being asked to connect more with the land in some way here? Even planting some seeds in a flowerpot gives us an opportunity to be partner to a small miracle. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

