Sefer HaMitzvos

Every day- other than shabbes, of course- I go to the Chabad daily study portal to read the Chumash, Tanya and Hayom Yom. If I’m in a hurry, I sometimes read my Tehillim there, too, rather than using the beautiful Artscroll book which takes considerably longer to find and read. But there’s something I’ve always ignored- perhaps not intentionally, but ignored nonetheless.

Rambam. The Mishneh Torah.

I’m not entirely sure why. Maybe because my reading schedule is already somewhat hurried, as I try to fit in various texts amidst the hustle and bustle of an average morning. Maybe, subconsciously, I was put off by the words ‘three chapters’. I’m not sure why. But today, I clicked on the description and actually read it. And it was then that I saw, for the first time, what Chabad.org actually wrote about it;

Participating in the one of the annual study cycles of these laws (3 chapters/day, 1 chapter/day, or Sefer Hamitzvot) is a way we can play a small but essential part in rebuilding the final Temple

I opened Sefer HaMitzvos. Clearly, it would take no more than a minute or two to read, and another few minutes to research and dwell upon. If I added just another five minutes a day to my routine, I could play a part in the rebuilding of the Temple and the arrival of Moshiach?! It sounds too good to be true. But it is.And so that is why I decided to begin reading Rambam today, one day after Shushan Purim, and not when the cycle began. I may be behind, but it’s better to be late than never. We need Moshiach NOW!

7 thoughts on “Sefer HaMitzvos

Leave a Reply

