Ruach

A while ago, someone asked me why we thank G-d for wind as well as for rain. I admitted to finding the prayer confusing. I know why we pray for rain, I recognise its importance, and I find it ironic and sad that in modern western culture, we curse rain as opposed to praying for it. But I never understood praising G-d for wind. It doesn’t seem to serve any purpose, and on the contrary, strong winds are often very dangerous.

I thought about this today as we experienced dangerous winds which caused a number of disruptions and incidents. Why are we thanking G-d for this?! As I see it, this is the ultimate expression of awe for G-d. It’s like saying “Boruch Doyon HoEmes” when we feel furious and heartbroken after the passing of a loved one. Obviously, this isn’t as extreme an example, but it shows just how much we love Hashem and wish to abide by His will. Essentially, we are thanking Him for everything He created, even the things we don’t appreciate on a day to day level.

Whether or not my interpretation is correct, I feel that it will provide me with extra emunah next time I thank G-d for the wind.

2 thoughts on “Ruach

  1. I love this and it fits so well with the perspective on life I’ve learned from my Chabadnik relatives. I love the constant search for the positive and the idea that everything is a blessing. It’s such a better way to live and view life. I’m not yet at a point I feel I know enough to label myself Lubavitch, but I definitely feel more at home davening among them and admire their perspective on Torah greatly.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is such a wonderful thing to say. I definitely felt the same way about Chabad at first and I guess I still have on/off moments but after some time I do find myself identifying with them. Wish you hatzluche for the rest of your journey!

      Like

Leave a Reply

