Boruch

Is it odd to daven for someone you don’t even know?

I don’t think it is.

But when you add in the factor that you have no idea who they are, you don’t even know their English name, and you are almost certainly separated by thousands of miles… It becomes a somewhat jarring concept. Somewhat unusual. I began to feel I was doing the wrong thing. Nearly all the names on my refuah shleimah list are either friends, or friends’ relatives and acquaintances. But today I added a name out of nowhere. A name I’d never heard before. A name which captivated me, which inspired me to daven. Boruch. Along with his mother’s name, which I don’t want to post. Because perhaps Boruch is reading this now…

I have no idea who he is.

All I know is that he’s suffering.

And I don’t want to stand by and let a Jew suffer. Of course I can’t daven for every name in the world. But I can try, can’t I? I can beg Hashem to help Boruch, and maybe, over time, the names will drop off the list. Maybe things will get better. Without a doubt, Moshiach is on his way- and then the suffering will come to an end. But that’s enough for now. I need to daven.

For Boruch.

2 thoughts on “Boruch

  1. I think that is the purest prayer possible. Think about all other people on your list, you pray for them but also for yourself, you don’t want your friend to have pain, that is somewhat [very small and good way] selfish. However, when you pray for someone whom you’ve never met and almost certain that he won’t ever know that there is a prayer for him by you… that’s pure love, pure prayer, pure אהבת ישראל
    Hopefully Hashem will answer your prayers, for Baruch, the whole list, and yourself.
    [and all of Israel]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

