Hayom Yom and Tehillim

This morning, near the beginning of my daily study session, I read the following in the Hayom Yom; ”We cannot adequately describe the great merit of those who participate in the sacred avoda of saying Tehillim with a minyan, and the great pleasure this avoda causes On High”. As this passage makes clear, saying Tehillim with a minyan is a great mitzvah, which has a massively positive effect on one’s neshomo, and pleases G-d greatly. What I’d like to know is how important this is in comparison to davening with a minyan, and studying Torah with a minyan. The comparison between davening ‘for the wrong reason’ and studying Torah for self-aggrandisement has been the topic of the past few days in the Tanya (Kuntres Acharon), and reading about this issue made me curious about Tehillim.

The Hayom Yom has always been very dear to me. Just as the Torah does not waste even a single letter, let alone a word or, G-d forbid, a line, the Hayom Yom is compact, easy to read, and filled with Chassidic knowledge. It’s the perfect way to start one’s daily study (Though I personally read the Chumash first), and it manages to intrigue and fascinate me every time I read it. Tehillim, meanwhile, were once a source of difficulty for me. Today, they stir my neshomo and inspire my davening. I try not to read them too quickly (probably my biggest fault), and I attempt to savour each and every Holy word. But initially, I found Tehillim hard to follow and hard to enjoy. I can hardly fathom this now, but it’s actually very inspiring- it makes me realise that the things I still struggle with today will at one point become second-nature, iy”H!

2 thoughts on “Hayom Yom and Tehillim

  1. So interesting. I love HaYom Yom. I used to learn it daily with a friend. Tehillim are so central to davening, but, I am really not as knowledgeable about them as I would like to be. I think that the kedusha of tehillim is revealed slowly. The more I say them, the more that the meaning of a particular tehilla becomes associated with a particular emotion and experience. How wonderful that you can so fluently express your thoughts on such a nuanced topic.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

