Good Shabbes!

This shabbes is probably going to be everything but normal. Pretty much all the Chabad rabbonim- including mine- are away at kinus hashluchim, the annual conference of kiruv rabbis. Obviously it’ll be weird to go to shul and not see my rabbi, but there’s also no rebbetzen, which means I take her place (as far as kiddush is concerned). It’ll definitely be interesting, but I feel as if I haven’t had a normal, peaceful shabbes in weeks. While we’re on the topic of hilchos shabbes, I read the following on Halachapedia; ”The Ramo (siman 336:8) rules without question that it is permitted to remove a fruit from a branch that was detached before Shabbos”. This is a topic which has long since puzzled me. I used to prepare fruit platters for shabbes, featuring grapes, which obviously have to be either removed from the stalk, or the stalk must be cut. However, I haven’t done this for a while, because I wasn’t sure if it was permissible.

When you light your candles and daven this shabbes, please remember Chaim Elozor ben Baila for a refuah shleimah. Additionally, please remember the victims of the terrible arson attacks in E”Y, and pray for rain. I hope you all enjoy a wonderful shabbes!

Leave a Reply

