Neshama

In August, I remember writing briefly about how I felt that beautiful, Jewish melodies touched my neshama (soul) and brought me closer to G-d. Tonight, as I dwelled upon this, I remembered how a certain musical artist actually played a part in inspiring me to become frum. It’s too long and personal a story to write here, but as I stood in the middle of a maze of moral issues and personal tragedies, I stumbled upon Shloime Gertner’s “Shma Yisrael” video and, to put it bluntly, it changed me. His vocals and melodies made me feel a deep sense of meaning and connection to my Creator. I felt different somehow, and sought out Mesorah wherever I could find it after that. My journey eventually led me to Chabad. It’s fair to say I owe him an awful lot, and if you haven’t, I recommend you check out his work straightaway!

Leave a Reply

