Battling for the Torah

My journey towards Torah observance hasn’t been easy. On the contrary, it’s been an uphill struggle. Like many Baalei Teshuva, my family are diametrically opposed to Orthodoxy in any shape or form. I thankfully haven’t had to deal with other social pressures, but I assure you- trying to keep kosher and dress modestly when my flesh and blood want their not yet observant daughter back is hard. Very hard. No matter what the laws say about freedom of religion and adults having a right to choose, I don’t always feel like it’s weighted in my favour.

Today I walked and thought. About the Torah. About Moshiach. And I thought to myself, I’ve been through battles, and each one brings me closer to these two things…

Leave a Reply

