Proud to be a Jew

For me, Jewishness is the source of utmost pride.

I’m proud to be a Jew. I love being a Jew, and I’m fairly open about it. I don’t make any attempt to hide the fact I’m Torah observant; rather, I embrace the commandments of Kosher, Shabbos and Tznius (for example), without any inhibitions or secrecy. And yet, with the enormous amount of anti-Semitism in the world today, some people are suggesting that even the word “Jew” is offensive.

I disagree.

A Jew is what I am. It’s what I always will be. No matter how many people- anti-Semitic and politically correct alike- try to change that, they can’t. I am a Jew, and I’m not ashamed of it, so why can’t people call me a Jew? Removing the word Jew from our vocabulary suggests that Jewishness is something to be ashamed of. It’s not. I’m proud to be a Jew.

Leave a Reply

